When it Rains, I Cry like a Baby

Good morning, good evening, good afternoon. There’s something about a thunderstorm and a torrential downpour that makes you want to burrow down into your covers and never come out. And THEN I found out that someone in southern NJ gained a new skylight courtesy of the lightning. I understand. I’m in my mid-twenties and still afraid of lightning. I don’t care. I’ll say it loud and embarrassingly squeakily, just like Tails:

I’m officially hooked on Pokemon again. Oh boy. This should be fun. I finally leveled a Zubat high enough to have Haze, which is the move I bred into the Swablu egg that I’m working to hatch now. I decided that Nature is the first element of ‘Perfect’ training that I’m throwing out the window. Nature basically gives an attribute that makes the Mon’ more prone to gain points in a desired stat. Takes too long to do, takes too much to get it to do what you want on a constant basis, and I just want a team now. I can hunt… 15+ differently Nature’d Ditto later. I’m two Mon’ away from a temporary team.

Tropes are not bad. Tropes are tools. Tools to be wielded as carefully as possible. But I guess that’s what noobs like this one are for. I’ll give them credit; because Blogger is a little more visually flexible, the site actually looked genuine. I swear, I’ve never seen such short paragraphs in my entire life. Let alone the lack of actual content. It was entertaining, but for all the wrong reasons. Thank you, StumbleUpon for sending me to another loser. I needed to feel superior today.

You know, it used to be enough to hope for a sequel. Then series like MegaMan made that all too silly a thought, so then we started looking forward to new ways to tell digital stories and gameplay elements. Both, in their own way, mean that new tech had to come out to keep up with this… thirst for newness. (That’s all I can call it. *shrugs*) Don’t bother with the article. Go straight to the comments.

Mr. ‘jvdeen’ is why I just don’t give a crap for new tech anymore. The tech should not outweigh the game. I repeat: THE TECH SHOULD NOT OUTWEIGH THE GAME! They should go hand-in-hand, working as one to create the experience of being away from your own life. You know, like books used to.

Furthermore, I have played better games on Newgrounds, Kongregate, and various other random places on the net. Games where there was a clear element of thought put into the whole she-bang where Flash or Java itself might have fallen short if they lacked the imagination. But didn’t, of course.

What I want from a game is simple. Engagement, complexity, and cleverness. Engage me in such a way that makes me think differently. Be just complex enough to get me to sit up in my seat and say ‘wow’, even if for a second. And be clever enough to the point where you could imagine playing the game even if there was no real point.


This one makes me ‘lol’…

Thank you, and have a nice day.

1 Comment »

  1. Chairo Kuma Said:

    Thank you for all the lovely things you said about me. It is always nice to meet such polite people on-line, well done. I guess if it makes you feel superior, kudos to you.

    Also you totally missed my point. I wasn’t saying any of those were cliché, quite the opposite. Perhaps if you took the time to see that my blog is about how those are NOT cliché and especially in the hands of skillful writers.
    As for my short paragraphs…English is not my first language so excuse me for not mastering this language yet.

    Have a nice day


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

